2017 TOS Crew Reviews

Adventures Of Rush Revere #1 New York Times Best Selling Book Series // A Review

This past year, we studied American History in different formats — textbook, audio, video and movies. Because my 8th grade son struggles with comprehension, we look for fun and interesting ways to help him to absorb the material and have fun learning at the same time. We were so excited for the opportunity to review the Adventures of Rush Revere Book Series from Adventures of Rush Revere #1 New York Times Bestselling Book Series by Rush and Kathryn Adams Limbaugh.

Adventures of Rush Revere

About The Series

The Adventures of Rush Revere series is written by Rush Limbaugh and his wife Kathryn Adams. The books follow Rush Revere, who is very passionate about teaching history to his students at Manchester High School. One of the methods he uses is time travel, and together with his talking horse Liberty, he makes learning history fun.  The suggested age range for these books ages 8-12, but my 13 year old son is enjoying them, and I am sure they would appeal to younger children as well.

For the purpose of this review, we received all five books in the Adventures of Rush Revere series. I was very surprised when I opened the box and found these beautiful, hard cover books wrapped tightly together with a lovely silk bow.

The five books in this series are:

  • Rush Revere and the First Patriots
  • Rush Revere and the Brave Pilgrims
  • Rush Revere and the American Revolution
  • Rush Revere and the Star-Spangled Banner
  • Rush Revere and the Presidency

These books are written in such a way that they bounce back and forth between history and the present day. The lessons learned through their time travel adventures help the students with their modern day challenges.

These books are filled with illustrations and images of real people, places and historical documents from American history. Here are some examples:

My son has read the first three books in this series.  He really enjoyed them because he said they were fun to read and were a great way for him to learn American History facts. Here are his summaries of the first three books.

Book One – Rush Revere and the Brave Pilgrims

In this book, we travel back in time with Rush, Liberty and students Freedom and Tommy. We join the Pilgrims on board the Mayflower in the year 1620 and travel to Plymouth Rock, where we celebrate the very first Thanksgiving. We learn about what the travelers of the Mayflower experienced while on their long journey such as where they slept, what they ate, whether or not they struggled with sea sickness and other things. Some of the Americans we meet in this book are William Bradford and Squanto. This is an important book to read first because it introduces you to the main characters throughout the entire series.

Book Two – Rush Revere and the First Patriots

In this book, we travel back in time with Rush and Liberty to Boston in the year 1765 and experience the events leading up to the American Revolution. There was much unrest as the people are unhappy with the rules that are being imposed upon them by King George III. In this book we meet Samuel Adams, Benjamin Franklin and Paul Revere. This book is full of action and suspense.

Book Three – Rush Revere and The American Revolution

In this book we travel to the year 1775 to experience the battles of Lexington, Concord and Bunker Hill, and meet up with George Washington, Dr. Joseph Warren and Paul Revere. We also experience Cam’s (another student) struggle as his father, who is in the military, is deployed to Afghanistan. Cam deals with depression and is also being bullied. There is one historic event that helps Cam to see his father’s service in a new light.

There are two other books in the series which my son has not yet read and I’ve only skimmed through. In Rush Revere and the Star Spangled Banner the crew travels to Washington DC, visiting the National Monument and the White House. In Rush Revere and The Presidency, we travel back in time to find out the makings of a good president.

There is a lot of information, including study guides for each book, activities and quizzes, at The Adventures of Rush Revere Education Depot.

Our Thoughts

Overall, my son really enjoyed reading the first three books. I didn’t have a problem in getting him to stay focused on his reading, which I normally do. These books are an engaging read and full of excitement and adventure.

Be sure to click on the banner below to read the review of other Crew members.

Adventures of Rush Revere Book Series {Reviews}
Crew Disclaimer

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge